

## **CSM Honourary Membership Award Recipient:**

Dr. Susan F. Koval, University of Western Ontario, London, ON



Susan Koval received her BSc (Biology) from the University of Waterloo in 1968, her MSc in Microbial Physiology at the University of Western Ontario in 1970 and her PhD in Microbial Biochemistry at University College, University of London in 1976. She joined Dr. R.G.E. Murray's laboratory at the University of Western Ontario in 1976 for postdoctoral studies on the ultrastructure and assembly of bacterial S-layers. These studies lead to her career interests in electron microscopy and structure and function of prokaryotic cell surfaces. She joined the Department of Microbiology and Immunology as a faculty member in 1984 and is now a Professor Emerita in the department. A sabbatical with Judy Armitage in the Department of Biochemistry at the University of Oxford in 1995-96 gave her the opportunity to return to the study of the bacterium of her MSc project, the bacterial predator Bdellovibrio

*bacteriovorus.* One highlight of these studies was the description of a new species, *Bdellovibrio exovorus*, that has an epibiotic rather than periplasmic life cycle. Dr. Koval has demonstrated exemplary service to the profession of microbiology. She has been an active member of the Canadian Society of Microbiologists for 38 years, serving on the Education Committee, the Morphology and Structure section, as Meetings Secretary (1990-94), on the CSM Award Committee (1997-2000), and on the Executive (2000-2004). She became the third female President of the Society in 2002-03. She has served twice as Chair of the ASM Division J, and is also a member of the Editorial Board of the Canadian Journal of Microbiology since 1985. She was also a member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Bacteriology (1989-2000). She served on the NSERC Scholarships and Fellowships Selection Committee (Cellular and Molecular Biology) in 2010-2011 and chaired the Master's Subcommittee in 2012. She is currently the Chair of the University of Western Ontario Biosafety Committee and the Biohazards Subcommittee.