Untitled 1
Canadian Society of Microbiologists Untitled 1

Untitled 1

WHAT'S NEW  ::  CSM & Microbiology

CSM & Microbiology

February 6, 2019
CSM February 2019 President Letter

 Happy New Year! I hope your 2019 is off to an excellent start!

I wanted to take this opportunity to provide you with both a couple of Society updates, and some up-coming opportunities.

First, we are delighted to welcome a new cadre of Section Vice Chairs to the CSM!
Laura Hug (U Waterloo) will take on the Vice Chair role of the Applied and Environmental Microbiology Section, working with Steven Short (U of T, Mississauga) as Chair.
Georgina Cox (U Guelph) will take over the Vice Chair role of the Infection and Immunity Section, working alongside Sebastien Faucher (McGill) as Chair

Finally, we had a number of outstanding nominees for the Vice Chair role for the Molecular Genetics and Cellular Microbiology Section, and while the vote was close, Alex Hynes (McMaster U) will ultimately be taking on this position, replacing Tracy Raivio (U Alberta), who will be stepping into the Chair position for the next two years.
In addition, we are thrilled to welcome Alex Ensminger (U of T) to the CSM Executive, as our new 2nd Vice President.

Thank you all for participating in the nomination and voting process! We are grateful to everyone who put their names forward, and we are very much looking forward to working with the new section leaders and members of the executive to continue to support and advance Canadian microbiology.

In the spirit of celebrating the phenomenal microbiological research being conducted in Canada and beyond, this year's annual conference will be held at the beautiful Université de Sherbrooke, from June 10th-13th. The conference is an excellent opportunity to showcase the outstanding work going on across the country, and I encourage you all to attend!

Please check out the conference website to register and submit an abstract, and to get more information: https://www.fourwav.es/view/841/info/en/.

Please note the following deadlines associated with the conference:

March 20 - Student competition abstract submission closes
March 27 - General abstract submission closes
April 15 - Early registration ends
June 3 - Online registration closes

As part of the annual conference, the CSM recognizes exceptional achievements by graduate students, early-career investigators, and senior investigators, with a series of awards (Armand-Frappier Outstanding Student Award; Thermo Fisher Award for New Investigators; and the CSM Murray Award for Career Achievement). I would encourage you to submit nominations for deserving students and colleagues by the April 1st deadline.

In addition, we have awards available for top undergraduate students, opportunities for students to serve as CSM Graduate Ambassadors, a multitude of poster/presentation prizes for post-doctoral fellows and graduate students presenting at the annual conference, alongside a number of travel awards to help defray the cost of travel to the annual conference.

Information and nomination/application forms for all of these opportunities can be found on the CSM Awards page.

I hope this up-coming year is an excellent one for you, and I look forward to seeing many of you in Sherbrooke in June!

Marie Elliot, Ph.D.
McMaster University

Related Links
CSM Conference 2019
Award Details
2019 CSM Conference
Award Details

Untitled 1

CSM-SCM Secretariat
17 Dossetter Way
Ottawa, ON K1G 4S3

Tel: (613) 421-7229

Home | Site Map | Site Search |