



## Call for Nominations: 2024 CSM Murray Award for Career Achievement Sponsored by Canadian Science Publishing

**Objective of Award**: To provide national recognition to outstanding Canadian Microbiologists and to maintain a historical record of the achievements of these key contributors to microbiological research.

**Eligibility**: Any Canadian citizen or resident of Canada who has done outstanding scientific work in microbiology and who has an active CSM/SCM membership or had a membership prior to retirement shall be eligible for the Award. The award may be based upon an accumulation of accomplishments or a single outstanding contribution. An individual could qualify for the award more than once, but only on the basis of different accomplishments.

**Award Lecture**: The awardee will present a 40 minute talk based on the work for which the award was given during the Annual Conference of the CSM/SCM. This year the Conference will be held at the Western University, London, Ontario, Canada, from June 23 to June 26, 2024. In addition the awardee will also provide a review article based on the talk for submission in the Canadian Journal of Microbiology (CJM) which is published by the Canadian Science Publishing. The award consists of a cheque in the amount of \$1,500.00 and an inscribed award plaque, presented at the President's Banquet at the conclusion of the Conference. **Travel expenses incidental to receiving the award are not reimbursed**. Canadian Science Publishing has been sponsoring the award since 2011.

**Nomination Process**: A letter of nomination from a qualified microbiologist is required. The letter should include a description of the research on which the nomination is based (up to two letters may be included). In addition, a curriculum vitae should be supplied which includes detailed bibliographical data pertaining to the nominee's education, honours, experience, and a list of publications. All materials should be submitted by e-mail to the CSM Secretariat: <a href="mailto:info@csm-scm.org">info@csm-scm.org</a>.

## The Nomination Deadline is January 19th, 2024.

**Method of Selection**: The selection of the awardee shall be made by a special Award Committee consisting of three CSM members, each elected to a three-year term. A committee member may, if he/she wishes, co-opt another member of the Society to give expert advice on the scientific value of a nominee's contribution to microbiology. The award will only be made if the committee believes there is a suitable nominee.

## Previous Recipients of the CSM Murray Award Sponsored by Canadian Science Publishing

| 2023 Michael Surette<br>2022 Roger C. Levesque<br>2021 Turlough Finan<br>2020 Lori Burrows | 2019 Yves Brun<br>2018 Gregor Reid<br>2017 Sylvain Moineau<br>2016 William W. Mohn | 2015 Mark Wainberg<br>2014 Keith Poole<br>2013 Gerard Wright | 2012 Eric Brown<br>2011 George Chaconas |
|--|--|--|---|
|--|--|--|---|

## Previous Recipients of the CSM Award (Roche Diagnostics Award 1986 – 2009) & (Norgen Biotek Award 2010):

| 2009<br>2008<br>2007<br>2006 | Lindsay Eltis Brett Finlay Miguel Valvano Jo-Anne Dillon Joseph Lam Carlton Gyles | 2003<br>2002<br>2001<br>2000 | Gerrit Voordouw<br>Chris Whitfield<br>Pierre Talbot<br>Peter Loewen<br>Cecil Forsberg<br>Donald E Woods | 1997<br>1996<br>1995<br>1994 | Dieter Kluepfel<br>Julian Davies<br>Ken Sanderson<br>Diane Taylor<br>Terrence Beveridge<br>Trevor J Trust | 1991<br>1990<br>1989<br>1988<br>1987 | DJ Kushner<br>Malcolm B Perry<br>Lorne Allan Babiuk<br>GD Sprott<br>L Bryan<br>REW Hancock<br>A Hurst |
|------------------------------|---|------------------------------|---|------------------------------|---|--------------------------------------|---|
|                              |   |                              |   |                              |   | 1986                                 | A Hurst   |

To see all the past award winners please go to: <a href="http://www.csm-scm.org/english/awards">http://www.csm-scm.org/english/awards</a> pastwinners.asp

CSM would like to thank Canadian Science Publishing for their ongoing support of this award. Their commitment and service to microbiological research and teaching in Canada is much appreciated.