



Call for Nominations: 2024 Thermo Fisher Scientific Award

Object of Award: The Fisher Scientific Award is given to stimulate and recognize new researchers in the microbiological sciences.

Eligibility: By the deadline of the award application date, applicants must be members of the CSM/CSM. They must also be **EITHER** (1) no more than 5 years from their first independent research position **or** (2) no more than 10 years from their last degree in the field of Microbiology or a related science.

Eligible leaves of absence (e.g., parental leave, medical leave, bereavement) taken during the period of eligibility will be credited as twice the amount of time taken. The nominee must have made an outstanding contribution to research or to the development of the discipline for which the award is made and must still be actively engaged in this work.

Award Lecture: The award winner will present a 40 minute talk on the research for which the award was given during the Annual Conference. This year the Conference will be held at Western University from June 23 to June 26, 2024. The award winner has to provide a review of the talk for submission in the Canadian Journal of Microbiology (CJM) which is published by the Canadian Science Publishing. The award consists of a cheque in the amount of \$1,500.00 and an inscribed award scroll which will be presented after the lecture presentation. **Travel expenses incidental to receiving the award are not reimbursed.**

Nomination Process: Two letters of nomination from qualified microbiologists not closely associated with the nominee are required (letters from thesis supervisors, PDF supervisors, manuscript co-authors and family members will not be accepted). These letters must describe the specific contribution the individual has made. In addition, a curriculum vitae should be supplied. The curriculum vitae should include detailed bibliographical data pertaining to education honours and experience, verified degree dates and a list of publications. All materials should be submitted by e-mail to the CSM Secretariat: info@csm-scm.org.

The Nomination Deadline is January 19th, 2024.

Method of Selection: The Award Review Committee will comprise three members of the CSM Council (Past-President, Meetings Secretary, Education Committee Chairperson) and two Editors of the Canadian Journal of Microbiology. The Award committee will review the nominations and select the recipient of the award. It is understood that should there be no qualified candidate in any given year, the award will not be granted. Unsuccessful nominations from previous years may be nominated.

Previous Recipients of the Fisher Scientific Award:

2022 2021 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016	Jennifer Geddes-McAlister Laura Hug César de la Fuente John Whitney Joe Harrison Andrew Doxey Étienne Yergeau Cezar Khursigara Sean Crowe	2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008	Catherine Paradis-Bleau Josh Neufeld Brian Coombes Mariela Segura Steve Hallam John Brumell John McCormick Fiona Brinkman	2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000	David Heinrichs Charles Dozois Lyle Whyte François Jean Roberta Fulthorpe Marcelo Gottschalk Michael G. Surette Richard Belanger	1995 1994 1993 1991 1990 1989 1988	Keith Poole J.R. Lawrence Michael F. Hynes Mario Jacques B. Brett Finlay Reggie Y.C. Lo Joseph Lam Mike Dubow Pierre Talbot
--	---	--	---	--	--	--	---

CSM would like to thank Thermo Fisher Scientific for their ongoing support of this award. Their commitment and service to microbiological research and teaching in Canada is much appreciated.