Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

CSM-SCM is committed to facilitating the principles of EDI in the functioning of our Society.

Report by CSM-SCM Equity, Diversity & Inclusion (EDI) Subcommittee

The CSM-SCM EDI subcommittee was constituted in 2021 to provide guidelines to the CSM executives to facilitate the principles of the EDI in the functioning of the Society.

Terms of Reference


To provide recommendations to the CSM executives on process and actions required to identify and eliminate obstacles to inequities facing the members of the Society and to advance the principles of equity, diversity, and inclusion.


  • Develop a statement outlining the Society’s commitment to EDI principles
  • Develop guidelines for the Local Organizing Committee of the Annual Conference to include the principles of EDI in the conference program
  • Prepare a curated list of EDI resources for the Society’s website


  1. The subcommittee will be chaired by the Vice-President of the CSM, with the 2nd Vice-President serving as the vice-chair. Each member of the EDI sub-committee will have a term of two years. Terms will be staggered term to facilitate overlap with new members.
  2. EDI subcommittee membership will include representation by CSM members from different career stages and will be represented by at least one faculty member, one PDF and one graduate student at all times. Representation by members who identify themselves as belonging to a minority group in STEM should be encouraged.
  3. Call for nominations – two members at a time. Nominees submit a short bio and a 250 word write up on their commitment to the principles of EDI. If there are multiple applicants for a position, then the members will be selected via an election.

The current members are:

  • Atiyeh Ahmadi (University of Waterloo)
  • Ianina Altshuler, McGill University
  • Arinjay Banerjee, VIDO, University of Saskatchewan
  • Supriya Bhat, University of Regina
  • Trevor Charles, University of Waterloo
  • Jo-Anne Dillon, University of Saskatchewan
  • David Heinrichs (University of Western Ontario), Vice-Chair of EDI
  • George Maya (McMaster University)
  • Ellen Sykes, University of Manitoba
  • Jonathan Van Hamme, Thompson Rivers University, Chair of EDI

CSM-SCM EDI Statement

The Canadian Society of Microbiologists (CSM) recognizes and promotes Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) in all of its activities including but not limited to membership, leadership, annual conference representation, and mentoring. We acknowledge the historical and ongoing intersectional discrimination of marginalized peoples in Canadian society, and within science in particular. In all our activities we will strive to promote and maintain a sense of welcoming and belonging for Indigenous Peoples, women, persons with disabilities, racialized people, 2SLGBTQ+ members, and other under-represented and marginalized groups. Our goal is to take actionable steps to provide a supportive, respectful, and welcoming environment thereby enhancing our collective scientific curiosity, endeavour, and spirit.

La Société Canadienne des microbiologistes (SCM) reconnaît et fait la promotion de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion (EDI) dans toutes ses activités incluant, mais non limitées à, l’abonnement, le leadership, les conférences annuelles et le mentorat. Nous reconnaissons la discrimination intersectionnelle historique et continuelle des personnes marginalisées dans la société canadienne, et principalement dans le domaine scientifique. Dans toutes nos activités, nous nous efforcerons de promouvoir et maintenir un sentiment d’accueil et d’appartenance pour les peuples autochtones, les femmes, les personnes en situation d’handicap, les personnes racisées, les membres de la communauté 2SLGBTQ+ et tous autres groupes sous-représentés et marginalisés. Notre objectif est de prendre des actions tangibles pour offrir un environnement favorable, respectueux et accueillant pour renforcer notre curiosité, notre effort et notre esprit scientifiques collectifs.